Sunday, November 23, 2008

Unstoppable Bolt and Isinbayeva Snag Top Award

Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt of Jamaica and Russian pole vaulter Yelena Isinbayeva won the IAAF World Athlete of the Year awards on Sunday.

Bolt set world records in the 100 and 200 metres at the Beijing Games in August. His third gold medal came in Jamaica's 400 relay, also a world record.

Isinbayeva successfully defended her Olympic title and remained undefeated in outdoor competitions in 2008. The Russian pole vault queen cleared 5.05 metres in Beijing to set her 24th career world record and retain the Olympic title.

Both athletes take home $100,000 for winning award.

The entire field were Olympic champions and achieved incredible feats. Cuban hurdler Dayron Robles and Ethiopian long-distance runner Kenenisa Bekele were the other contenders in the men's category. Tirunesh Dibaba of Ethiopia and Kenyan Pamela Jelimo were in the running on the women's side.

By Jay Hicks for Prerace Jitters.

No comments:

Post a Comment